The NBASW is governed by a Board of Directors, which is composed of an Executive, representatives from around the Province, two First Nations representatives (Mi'gmaq and Wolastoquiyik First Nations Representatives), a public representative and national representative (Canadian Association of Social Workers). Board members hold their position for two years and can be extended for a second term, to a maximum of four years.

If you are interested in joining the NBASW Board of Directors, please contact



67363828 2418698591520607 4151120436005961728 n

President: The President of the NBASW presides over 

official meetings, and provides leadership in matters of bylaw enforcement and other NBASW priorities.

Current President: Geraldine Poirier Baiani, RSW

Vice President

Vice-President: The Vice-President assists the president wherever necessary and will assume the role of President if, for some reason, the president cannot complete their term.

Current Vice-President: Carole Gallant, RSW


Secretary: The Secretary of the NBASW records minutes of official meetings and takes care of correspondence and other tasks as needed for the Board.

Current Secretary: Julie Ouellette, RSW


Treasurer: The Treasurer of the NBASW is responsible for overseeing the NBASW’s finances and budget.

Current Treasurer: Luc Poitras, RSW

Chapter Directors

Chapter Directors

Acadian Peninsula: André-Marc Friolet, RSW
Chaleur: Eric Gauvin, RSW
Charlotte County: Vacant
Edmundston/Grand Falls: Karine Levesque, RSW
Fredericton: Valerie DeLong, RSW
Miramichi: Mylène Morris, RSW
Moncton: Jenny Haché, RSW
Restigouche: Tany Ndopedro, RSW
Saint John: Ian Rice, RSW
Sussex: Julie Devine, RSW
Woodstock/Perth-Andover: Vacant

Other Representatives

CASW Representative

CASW Representative: The CASW Director serves as a liaison between the NBASW and the CASW (Canadian Association of Social Workers) and serves as a director on the national Board.

Current CASW Representative:
 Barbara Whitenect, MSW, RSW

First Nations Social Work Representatives

First Nations Social Work Representatives: The First Nations Social Work Representatives are appointed by NB’s First Nations communities to sit on the NBASW Board of Directors. The First Nations Representatives are responsible for providing a First Nations perspective and voice to the work of the Board. These representatives support the NBASW in ensuring its' work, positions, and decisions are culturally responsive and inclusive.

Current Mi'gmaq First Nation Social Work Representative: Vacant

Current Wolastoquiyik First Nation Social Work Representative: Tina Martin, RSW

Public Member

Public Member: A member of the public is appointed by the Minister of Health to sit on the Board of Directors. The Public Member is responsible for representing the interests of the general public and helping the NBASW carry out its work in a way that is accountable and transparent. As the only member of the Board who is not a social worker, the Public Member provides a crucially important and unique perspective to the Board's discussions and priorities.

Current Public Member: Candice Pollack